jumbo chocolate chip cookies

At the Auburndale book sale in early March, I snagged a few cookbooks, namely a Family Circle one which I am currently busy worshipping – so many great recipes and kitchen/cooking tips that I would never know otherwise! As most of my friends know, when I’m bored – I bake. So on a recent night, I broke out my brand new (okay, slightly used) Family Circle cookbook and flipped through for something on the dessert spectrum that was quick and easy and these cookies did it! They really are jumbo (we scooped dough by the 1/4 cup), but they are THAT good. I know every oven varies, but my first batch was in the oven for the just-perfect amount of time – long enough that they had cooked through, but short enough that they were just barely browned, still soft all around. I would definitely make these again and recommend them if you’re looking for something relatively easy, but sort of spur of the moment – and definitely go the extra step to buy chocolate chunks instead of chocolate chips .. it’s part of the jumbo experience! Pictures and recipe, right where they always are…

2 1/4c flour

1tsp baking soda

1tsp salt

2 sticks unsalted butter or margarine, at room temp

2/3c creamy peanut butter

1c sugar

1c packed light-brown sugar

2 eggs

2tsp vanilla

1 bag (12 oz) semisweet chocolate chunks

Heat oven to 325. In medium-size bowl, combine flour, baking soda and salt. In large bowl, with electric mixer on medium speed, beat together butter, peanut butter, sugar and brown sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in eggs and vanilla until blended. Stir in flour mixture until blended and dough forms. Stir in chocolate chunks. Using a 1/4c measure, drop dough by slightly rounded mounds onto large, ungreased cookie sheets, spacing cookies about 2 inches apart. Bake for 15-17 minutes or until golden brown around edges and lightly colored on top.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “jumbo chocolate chip cookies

  1. Rachel

    I will happppily break the fast with a couple of those babies!

  2. leslie

    Yum they look delicious

  3. Hello! So nice to get a message from you on my blog, I’m glad you’ve started one too because it’s so so so much fun. And by the way, these cookies look delicious! Keep up the good work 🙂

Leave a Reply

