brownie-bottomed peanut butter chocolate chip cheesecake

aka BBPBCCC or B2PBC3 or just straight up delicious. I originally found this recipe at Group Recipes, a food social networking site. I stumbled on it (actual, Group Recipes terminology) and knew I HAD to make it. Someday soon after that (sometime back in January), I dragged my poor boyfriend to the grocery store and then made him do all the heavy mixing of cream cheese and peanut butter when we got home. In typical, spontaneous-baking fashion, I had no intention to eat the entire cheesecake myself (and Matt doesn’t even like cheesecake) so I needed to bring it elsewhere .. so I could have a slice and not be tempted by the rest. I attempted to bring it to work on MLK Day, only to find the office closed, so it sat in my fridge a few days more and then I brought it to staff meeting that week and everyone there devoured it. Noga, my RD, made me promise to make it for her again for her birthday, which happened to be this past Friday (just like Sarah!)

Being home on spring break, I took advantage of my mom’s heavenly Kitchen Aid stand mixer and baked up my 2nd-ever brownie-bottomed peanut butter chocolate chip cheesecake. I’ve only got some beginning pictures and an end picture, with the cake still in the springform pan, seeing as transporting it any other way would’ve likely done some damage. If Noga saves me a slice, I’ll update this with a piece of the “cheesecake heaven” as she called it.

Ingredients ; In the Mix ; Final Product

Brownie-Bottomed Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cheesecake

While this is one of the more ingredient-heavy recipes I’ve done, the whole thing is from scratch, so a lot of the ingredients listed are ones you may already have in your cabinets. On to the recipe!

Brownie layer:

  • 6 tbl butter/margarine (melted)
  • 1 1/4 c sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 c flour
  • 1/3 c cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Cheesecake layer:

  • 3 pkg neufchatel/cream cheese, softened
  • 1/2 c creamy peanut butter
  • 3/4 c sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Additional:

  • 1 pkg milk chocolate chips/peanut butter chips (Nestle or Reeses makes these)

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Grease 9-inch springform pan. Stir together butter, sugar and vanilla in a large bowl with a whisk or mixer. Add eggs, stir well. Stir in flour, cocoa, baking powder and salt. Blend and spread in prepared pan. Bake 20-25 minutes or until brownie pulls away from pan. While the brownie-bottom bakes, mix neufchatel/cream cheese, peanut butter, sugar, eggs and vanilla together in a large bowl with a whisk or mixer. Immediately after removing brownie from oven, sprinkle the bag of chips on top. Spoon cheesecake mixture over the chips, return to oven. Continue baking for 45 min or until set and lightly golden. Remove from oven to wire rack. Cool 10 min. With knife, loosen cake from side of pan and remove the form. Before cutting and serving, squiggle sundae topping and caramel topping on cheesecake, if desired.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

